Skip to main content

Anthropology

About This Page

Here you will find all the tools you need to cite your sources properly, information on avoiding plagarism, and a link to RefWorks, which allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.

Citation Basics

The Carney Library has copies of several handbooks and style manuals including the ASA Style GuideMLA Handbook and APA manual

Feel free to contact me or the Writing/Reading Center (x8710) for assistance on tricky citations!

The following are a couple online guides that you may find helpful. 

AAA

AAA Style Guide (2009)

The online version of the AAA Style Guide. 

APA

OWL at Purdue (APA) 

Find help with APA style questions here.

FAQs about APA 

This page is from the American Psychological Association to help you answer some questions about using APA.

ASA

ASA Style Guide by Coates Library at Trinity University.

California State - LA

This site provides a summary of writing a paper in ASA format.

Chicago

OWL at Purdue (Chicago)

Purdue's OWL is one of the most popular sites for information on format and citation styles. .

Research and Documentation Online 

Based on information in "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age," Fifth Edition, by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister, this site provides nice examples of citing in Chicago format. 

MLA (7th Edition)

MLA Guide 

This is our library's basic guide to citing in MLA format.

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab

Purdue's OWL is one of the most popular sites for information on format and citation styles.  

FAQs about MLA 

This page is from the Modern Language Association to help you answer some questions about using MLA.

Citing Sources

Take the following online tutorial to learn more about when and why you cite sources.

Citing Sources: Why &  When


Tutorial: Citing Sources

Self Assessment: Citing Sources