Skip to main content

PSC 201 - Education Politics & Policy

About This Page

When citing sources for your paper you will use the citation style your professor assigns. In political science, that style is often the American Political Science Association (APSA) style. The APSA style is based on the Chicago Manual, 15th edition. This page provides links to style guides for APSA and Chicago, information on avoiding plagarism, and RefWorks, which allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

Citation Styles

The following are a few online guides that you may find helpful. 

APA

OWL: Purdue's Online Writing Lab (APA) - Find help with APA citation questions here.

FAQs about APA - This page is from the American Psychological Association to help you answer some questions about using APA.

APSA

Style Manual for Political Science - Revised in 2006, this manual is based on the Chicago Manual, 15th edition.

Chicago

OWL: Purdue's Online Writing Lab - Find help with Chicago style questions here.  

Research and Documentation Online - This site provides nice examples of citing in Chicago format. It's based on information in the 5th edition of "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age" by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister. 

Citing Sources

Take the following online tutorial to learn more about when and why you cite sources.

Citing Sources: Why &  When


Tutorial: Citing Sources

Self Assessment: Citing Sources

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.