Skip to main content

Gerontology

Create or access your RefWorks account

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager.

Using RefWorks, you can:

  • create a searchable database of your references
  • automatically import citations from many sources, including library databases and Google Scholar
  • organize your references into private or shareable folders
  • create reference lists
  • insert accurate in-text citations

Add In-Text Citations

To add in-text citations to your paper, use the curly brackets in RefWorks. Don't worry about the current citation format in which the citations display; when you use the Format Paper function, you can set all the citations to the right format at the same time.

arrow points to curly brackets

Format Your Document & Create a Bibliography

You can accurately format all your in-text citations and create a correctly formatted reference list at the same time! Just choose Format Document from the Bibliography menu.

Arrow points to Format Your Document link

Choose your desired output style and click select a file to choose the document you wish to format. Then open/save the document RefWorks creates for you.

Arrow points to select a file

RefWorks Tips

I'm happy to meet with you one on one to get you comfortable using this valuable tool!

This page includes instructions for some core skills in RefWorks. For virtually anything else you might want to do, try these video tutorials:

Export Citations from Databases

Most databases have some kind of export button that will let you send citations directly to your RefWorks database. The following example is from CINAHL, but is not that different from the export process in any other library database.

On the right side of the page, choose Export.

The export button is under Tools on the right side of the page

In the Export Manager pop-up, choose Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save.

In the Export Manager, choose Direct Export to RefWorks

Export from Google Scholar

If you use Google Scholar, you can edit your settings to allow easy import of citations into your RefWorks database.

 

Login to your Google account, go to scholar, and then choose Settings.

Settings is a link at the top of the main Google Scholar page

Near the bottom of the Scholar Settings page, you'll see a Bibliography Manager section. Choose the radio button next to Show links to import citations into and select RefWorks from the drop-down list. Be sure to Save your settings at the top of the page.

An arrow points to the place on the page where this setting can be made

Now you should see an Import to RefWorks link under each citation in Google Scholar.

Arrow points to Import into RefWorks link, right under the citation

Export from PubMed

Exporting from PubMed is a little trickier than some of our library databases.

Here are instructions on exporting citations from PubMed to RefWorks!

Attach Full-Text Articles to Citations

To attach a document, such as the full-text pdf of an article, to a citation in your database, use the edit button.

arrow points to edit button

An Edit Reference box will pop up. Scroll down and click the Browse button next to Attachments to choose the file you wish to attach.

arrow points to browse button