Skip to main content

SMAST

About This Page

This page is a starting point for finding out about citing references and style guides.

Documenting your research completely, accurately, and in a correct format is essential.  Information on avoiding plagiarism, and a link to RefWorks, a program that allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database, also appear on this page.

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.

Using Style Manuals

A number of citation styles are used for biology. Be sure to check your course syllabus or ask your professor to make sure that you use the correct style for your assignment or paper.

Scientists frequently use the manual published by the Council of Science Editors.  A physical copy is kept in the Learning Commons on the 1st floor of the library.  Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors and publishers. Council of Science Editors Style Manual Committee. 2006.  DESK REF Q11 .S386 2006

The library web site has introductory Citation Help.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

 

 

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Winiarz's picture
Elizabeth Winiarz
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 235 (map to my office)
285 Old Westport Rd
N. Dartmouth, MA 02747

ewiniarz@umassd.edu
508-999-8696