Skip to main content

Sustainability

About This Page

Documenting your research completely, accurately, and in a correct format is essential. 

Information on avoiding plagiarism, and a link to RefWorks, a program that allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database also appear on this page.

Plagiarism FAQs

Citation Basics

We have the APAAPSA and Chicago manuals in the library. Contact us or the Writing/Reading Center (x8710)  for assistance on tricky citations!

APA

OWL: Purdue's Online Writing Lab (APA) 

OWL is an excellent resource for help on citing sources.

FAQs about APA 

This page is from the American Psychological Association to help you answer some questions about using APA.

 

Chicago

OWL at Purdue (Chicago) - Find help with Chicago style questions here.

Research and Documentation Online - This site provides nice examples of citing in Chicago format. It's based on information in the 5th edition of "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age" by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister. 

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

 

RefWorks calls the Chicago Manual system "CHICAGO  NOTES."