Skip to main content

BRF - Introduction to Humanities and Social Sciences

About This Page

Here you will find all the tools you need to cite your sources properly, information on avoiding plagarism, and a link to RefWorks, which allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

Plagiarism

Citation Styles

We have several citation manuals including MLA, APA, Chicago, APSA, and CSE. 
Contact your subject librarian or the Writing/Reading Center (x8710)  for assistance on tricky citations!

The following are a few online guides that you may find helpful. 

APA

OWL at Purdue (APA) - Find help with APA citation questions here.

FAQs about APA - This page is from the American Psychological Association to help you answer some questions about using APA.

APSA

Style Manual for Political Science - Revised in 2006, this manual is based on the Chicago Manual, 15th edition.

Chicago

OWL at Purdue (Chicago) - Find help with Chicago style citation questions here. 

Research and Documentation Online - This site provides nice examples of citing in Chicago format. It's based on information in the 5th edition of "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age" by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.

CSE

CSE Library Guide - See our Library's guide for CSE citation help

MLA (Links to both 7th and 8th edition resources)

MLA Library Guide - See our Library's guide for MLA, 7th edition citation help.

OWL at Purdue (MLA) - This comprehensive guide of 8th edition gives you several examples to help you format your citations.

 

Tutorial

Take the following online tutorial to learn more about when and why you cite sources.

Citing Sources: Why &  When


Tutorial: Citing Sources

Self Assessment: Citing Sources