Skip to main content

Library Orientation Guide for Students

About

Learn more about our collections and materials available for borrowing here including reserve and A/V items.

Picture of the Circulation & Reserves sign at the Circulation desk

AV Equipment



We circulate AV equipment!  We have several laptops and these are extremely popular.  But we also have many other things:

Audiocassette Recorders
Camcorders - digital and VHS
Cameras - digital
Document Cameras
DVD Players
Extension Cords                                                   
Headphones
Laptops  
Laser pointers
MAC adaptors
Microphones (for classroom use)
Portable PA system
Portable videotape players (VTPs)
Radio/Compact disc players
Screens
Slide projectors
Tripods
VCR

***We also circulate dry erase markers for use in the group study rooms.

Loans are due back to our desk one hour before closing, which can change according to the library's schedule.  Make sure to return your items on time as large fines can accue.  

Reserves

Print Reserves

Print Reserves are materials physically located on the reserve shelves at the Access Services Desk on the first floor of the library. Examples of materials available there are books, textbooks, paper copies of journal articles, homework assignments, case studies, sample exams, etc.

Other digitized class materials will be made available to students via MyCourses and students should check with faculty with any questions.  

Search Primo by course, instructor or department.  You can also browse our reserve binders located on the main desk.   

Finding Books & Materials in our Collections

Our general collection is located on the 3rd and 5th floors of the library and may be checked out.  We use the Library of Congress classification system. 

The 3rd floor contains the art and music collections (call numbers M and N) and everything else is on the 5th floor.  

To find books, search Primo.  This is a discovery system that you will find on the homepage.  After you do your search, click on the tab that says, "UMD Collections Only" to limit to our physical collections.  

We also have a closed storage collection in our ground floor.  These items are not open to the public (since they are in compact shelving), but we can retrieve them for you.  Just fill out a form at our desk or you can request them electronically through Primo.  Retrieval can take time, so we batch our requests and collect them a few times a day.  We will email you when your item is ready for checkout.  

If you order through Primo, make sure to sign in to see request privileges.  Once you have found your book's record, click on the "Find in Library" tab and click on "Request".   Here is a quick video showing what that looks like.

Picture of book stacks on the fifth floor