Skip to main content

Law Library Introduction

Primo - Finding Books

Use Primo to find the library's collection of books, videos, and journals. See the Help Page for Finding Books for more information on using Primo to locate books. 

Use the search box below to run a quick search or use the advanced search page to limit your material type to books prior to searching. 

Guides to Law School

If you would like more books like those listed below, check out the KF 283 section on the second floor of the library!

The Print Collection

All books in the circulating collection have a loan period of 150 days.

Click for a map of the library!

Main Floor - Primary sources may be found on this floor.  Massachusetts statutes and reporters for all regions are located here.  Our encyclopedias, and reference material are also housed in this area.  Our reserve material and study aids are shelved behind the circulation desk.  Other materials of interest include:

Digests Topical index to caselaw.  This allows you to find cases on a particular subject.

ReportersReporters contain the full text of published court opinions.

Mass Practice and MCLE - These are resources intended to clarify areas of the law for practitioners.  They are great for discussing various topics within MA law, and they provide citations to related cases.  Forms may also be found in these volumes.

Nutshells - These compact, succinct guides break down legal subjects to express the fundamentals and help to develop better understanding.  

Second Floor - This floor houses the main treatise collection.  We follow the Library of Congress classification system for our collection, and all books on the second floor have call numbers that start with K (American law).  

Lower Level -   If you are seeking any books that are not K, they may be found on this floor.  The non K books that we own are topics that are parallel or related to law such as criminal justice, sociology, and history.  Our law reviews are also located on the basement level and they are shelved alphabetically by title.       

Black's Law Dictionary

A law school staple, this book is located at the library reference desk as well as online through Westlaw.