Research Guides: LGBTQ+ Legal Research: Find Articles

About

The Law Library subscribes to legal databases that house peer-reviewed articles. By virtue of being part of the UMass system, we also have access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary databases through the Carney Library. Through your research, you may find that you need a historical, sociological, or other LGBT perspective that might not come from a legal database. For the most thorough research, please check out all of the resources presented on this page.

Legal Databases (subscription through law library)

Find Articles in HeinOnline
Access from on campus or from home! Hein is a research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable environment.
Find Articles in Westlaw
Username and password supplied to law students for access from anywhere. Westlaw is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States.
Find Articles in Lexis
Username and password supplied to law students for access from anywhere. Lexis is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States.
LegalTrac
A comprehensive periodicals collection supporting legal topics. Check out the "subject guide search" to find all articles on a particular topic!

HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Library

Introduction to HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights
To continue honoring its core value of corporate citizenship, HeinOnline presents its newest addition to the Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more that some researchers may find offensive: viewpoints expressed in these items range from the cause of homosexuality and its alleged cures to the "problems" LGBT persons create in society.

Selected Databases (subscription through main campus library)

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A general resource containing citations and full-text article from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and more on a wide range of topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collection of full-text reports on controversial issues of current significance. The reports offer topic overviews and background information, opposing viewpoint essays, and much more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. This multidisciplinary database contains the content of the most used ProQuest databases with several subjects areas covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.
New York Times (Gale and ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse through historical and current issues of this major American newspaper.

Open Access Databases (free online)

Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is a resource to search and browse full-text preprints of scholarly research (in other words, a scholarly article/paper as it exists before final editing, review, and/or publishing). While it formerly focused on social science, all disciplines are included.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Find full text, peer-reviewed journal articles as well as book chapters, dissertations and theses, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work on all subjects hosted by universities and colleges worldwide. Browse by subject or search for specific keywords or works.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Librarian

Rebecca Valentine

she/her

Contact:

rvalentine@umassd.edu

Law Library
Room 102
333 Faunce Corner Road,
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-910-4020

Subjects: Law