Skip to main content

ENL 264: Communicating in the Sciences

About This Page

This page lists databases we recommend for finding articles written in the IMRAD style.

Look for your major to determine which database may be right for you.

If you're searching for something outside your major, choose your database based on the subject field in which your topic most likely belongs.


BIOSIS Previews is the most comprehensive research database for Biology and Life Sciences.  Please see the LibGuide for Biology for more information on searching BIOSIS Previews and other useful databases in the sciences.

Chemistry & Biochemistry

SciFinder Scholar is the major database for Chemistry and Biochemistry. It is produced by the American Chemical Society and is especially useful when you are searching for chemical compounds by formula, registry number or chemical structure.

To access SciFinder Scholar, drop by the reference/research help desk in the Learning Commons and you will be signed on.

For assistance using this database contact Science Librarian Elizabeth Winiarz.

Mathematics & Physics

Articles in MathSciNet are directed to advanced researchers in mathematics and can be unreadable to students at the undergraduate level who have not had a few years of math courses! The following databases may contain mathematics articles that are more general and readable for beginning undergraduates.

Medical Laboratory Science

Need help searching PubMed? See the handouts below!

Looking for even more advice on searching PubMed? See PubMed Tips on the Medical Laboratory Science LibGuide.