Find Articles - LAW 603 - Freedom of Information - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

About

This page is intended to suggest resources for finding news and scholarly articles on the topic of Freedom of Information.

Legal Databases

Westlaw
From the homepage select "secondary sources." Then limit to "Legal Newspapers & Newsletters" or "Law Reviews & Journals" and input your keywords.
Lexis
Choose "Browse" from the top left of the screen. Select "by category" followed by "secondary sources" from the menu. 'Legal News" or "Law Reviews and Journals" followed by a keyword search will produce relevant articles.
HeinOnline
You will notice a "browse collections" menu in the lower left of the homepage. Choose "law journal library" to limit your results and conduct a keyword search within this database.

News Sources

Both Lexis and Westlaw have databases specific to legal news that can be found on their home sceens, Here are a few Massachusetts links to help you find FOIA in the media.

ACLU - Fix Our Public records Law
Lists recent editorials, op-eds, and blogs specific to Massachusetts public records law.
MassLive
News and information web site for Western Massachusetts. Conduct a general search for "public record!" or "freedom of information" to find recent news.
Boston.com
Reporting and Commentary. Conduct a general search for "public record!" or "freedom of information" to find recent news.
Boston Globe (1997 - Present Proquest)

Open Access Databases (free online)

Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is a resource to search and browse full-text preprints of scholarly research (in other words, a scholarly article/paper as it exists before final editing, review, and/or publishing). While it formerly focused on social science, all disciplines are included.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Find full text, peer-reviewed journal articles as well as book chapters, dissertations and theses, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work on all subjects hosted by universities and colleges worldwide. Browse by subject or search for specific keywords or works.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Databases

As part of the UMass system, we also have access to a variety of multidisciplinary databases that the main campus provides. These resources could come in handy when you are exploring an area of the law that involves aspects of psychology, sociology, health sciences, etc.

Follow this link for a clickable list of Carney Library databases.

For more information on using the Carney Library in general, please see their orientation libguide.

Here are a few recommended databases:

Academic One File
A good general source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Updated daily.
Proquest Criminal Justice
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Expanded Academic
(Gale/InfoTRAC) - This database provides citations and full-text access to journals in fields such as astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, literature, art, sociology, general science, and communications, as well as covering current events.

Librarian

Rebecca Valentine

she/her

Contact:

rvalentine@umassd.edu

Law Library
Room 102
333 Faunce Corner Road,
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-910-4020

Subjects: Law