Research Guides: Art + Design: Find Images

About This Page

Finding good quality images from reliable sources is important to anyone studying the arts.

This page links to just a few of the many resources out there and introduces you to the Visual & Media Literacy Hub (VMLHub).

Visual & Media Literacy Hub Resources

Photo courtesy of Allison Cywin.

The mission of the Visual & Media Literacy Hub (VMLHub) is to support instruction and research by supplying high quality digital images and multimedia content for the purpose of classroom instruction, student media presentations and faculty research.

Feel free to call, email, or stop by to speak to the Visual Resources Curator, Allison Cywin.

Use the links below to browse their repository of images and other resources they suggest.

College of Visual & Performing Arts Visual & Media Literacy Hub (VML Hub) Digital Repository This link opens in a new window
The VMLHub's maintained database of images from different cultures and time periods.

Museums, Archives & Library Collections
The Visual & Media Literacy Hub keeps a list of links to the digital collections of many museums, archives, and libraries. Scroll down to the middle of the page to see!

Other Noteworthy Image Resources

American Craft Council Digital Collections
Containing images, documents, and media, the digital collections of the ACC provide great resources for the history of contemporary craft in the US.
British Museum
The first national public museum in the world, you'll find books, objects, prints, and drawings from all over the world.
Dia, NYC
Art Foundation collecting and commissioning modern and contemporary art, often site-specific.
Freer & Sackler Galleries, DC
The two Smithsonian Institution museums of Asian art.
Google Arts & Culture
Google has partnered with hundreds of museums and other cultural institutions from around the world to document them in 360 views and high quality images. In some cases, you'll get a better view here than if you were there in person.
The Guggenheim, NYC
Modern and contemporary art museum with several locations around the world.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
The largest museum in the western US, LACMA has a collection that spans from antiquity to contemporary from all over the world.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, NYC
The Met's collection spans 5,000 years from all over the world.
Museo del Prado, Madrid
Serving as the Spanish national museum, it collects European works from the 12th to the early 20th century.
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
A comprehensive museum collection spanning throughout history and the world.
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
The collection spans from antiquity to contemporary and includes art from all over the world.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), NYC
Known as the foremost modern art museum in the world, MoMA collects modern and contemporary works.
Musée d'Orsay, Paris
Collects mostly French work from the 19th to the early 20th century.
The National Gallery, London
Serving as the national art museum to the UK, it collects Western European art from the 13th to 19th century.
National Gallery of Art, DC
Serving as the national art museum to the US, this museum collects from the Renaissance to present mostly from North American, European, and some Asian artists.
The Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
Collections include an overview of Dutch art from the Middle Ages to present and highlights major European and Asian movements.
Smithsonian American Art Museum & Renwick Gallery, DC
This Smithsonian museum focuses on art from America from the past 300 years including folk art.
Victoria & Albert Museum
Search the Victoria & Albert Museum's impressive collections of art and design objects from all over the world from antiquity to the present.