English Literature & Criticism: Find Articles

This is the go-to database for literature research! It searches in literature related journals, books, and dissertations and covers international stuff. If you're looking at this guide and need to find an article AT LEAST TRY THIS!

JSTOR is a great place for scholarly work on literature (it also includes other subjects). You can find articles from the 1800s to present and book chapters also show up in a search! If you don't absolutely need something that was published in the last 6 years, search as is. If you do want to find resources from the past 6 years, under "Select an access type" choose "All Content." If you only find a citation, use the other box on this page to see if we have access to the journal or book, otherwise see the Interlibrary loan tab.

This database covers lots of subjects, but it's great for searching literature related scholarly journals. It automatically only searches "only content I have access to," so if you're not finding something try checking "all content" instead. You might have to interlibrary loan something but first use the other box on this page to double check we don't have access to it elsewhere.

This database searches scholarly journals, magazines, and more in the field of literature as well as the arts and other areas of the humanities.

This database is very similar to the above, just from a different provider...which means it likely has different scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, etc. in literature and other humanities fields.

This database searches scholarly journals, magazines, encyclopedias, and even books all related to literary criticism. While it includes resources on Shakespeare, it seems best for literature and poetry during and after the 20th century.