Research Guides: Crime & Justice Studies: Find Articles

About this Page

Do you need to find articles on a particular subject? This page is designed to help you identify some good databases to get you started. It provides links and annotations for databases available through the Carney Library.

Topic Overviews

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
is a collection of reports on controversial issues dating back to 1991. It may be helpful when you need an overview of a topic before looking for research articles. Since the CQ Researcher is a reference source, it isn't something that you'll typically cite in a paper.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource offers concise topic overviews on current and controversial issues as well as links to reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

Recommended Databases for CJS

The following databases are helpful for conducting research in the social sciences. Search these databases when you looking for articles on a specific topic. If you want to find out whether the library provides access to a specific journal or article, use the the Find Journals tab.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts, citations, and some full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals and more on crime and justice studies, criminology, and related disciplines.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, dissertations, and more related to law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can be a helpful supplement to the library's suite of databases. In particular, Google Scholar is useful for performing forward citation searches (i.e., finding other sources that cite a relevant article or book). When using Google Scholar be sure to evaluate your sources carefully. Use Primo to determine whether the library owns the item.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to hundreds of law journals, a collection of legal classics, and federal publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search this full-text online collection of scholarly journal articles and ebooks on all subjects. JSTOR stands for "journal storage," so many journals date back to their first issue but may not have the most recent issues available. To find citations for articles unavailable to us in our subscription, just use advanced search and under "Select an access type" choose "All Content."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. This multidisciplinary database contains the content of the most used ProQuest databases with several subjects areas covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from schoarly and journals in the psychological sciences, including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, and industrial/organizational psychology. APA PsycArticles is included within this database.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocIndex (EBSCO) covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminal justice, political science, social work and social psychology. I find that this is often a good place to begin researching most CJS topics.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, including latest scholarship in feminist research. Topics include sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education.

Additional Complementary Databases

The following databases cover economics, business, and education, areas that may offer additional information relating to CJS topics (I call them "sister disciplines").

ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI Inform Global is a business and management database. It may be helpful when looking for literature on management and financial issues related to CJS.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EconLit is an database of citations from journals and other resources in the field of economics. Check it out if you're looking for cost studies related to crime and justice. For example, it indexes articles on issues such as the cost of prison privatization and death penalty appeals.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, includes citations, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly journal articles, reports, and more related to all facets of education.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database by the Modern Language Association (MLA) allows you to search citations, abstracts, and some full-text of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations related to literature, language and linguistics, rhetoric, and the teaching of these subjects.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and more. It offers broad coverage of the political science literature, including subjects such as comparative politics, law and legislation, humanitarian issues, international relations, political theory, and non-governmental organizations.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search the citations, abstracts, and some full-text of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Newspapers

Here's a selected list of newspapers and newspaper databases available through the Carney Library.

Berkshire Eagle (2005 - present)
Boston Globe (1997 - present)
Boston Globe (1980 - 1996)
Google News
Limit your Google search to news sources. If you need older articles, use the archive feature or search the library's databases. Most, but not all, of the sources are full-text. If you need an article that you can't get full-text online, check Journal Locator. The library can help you obtain an article through ILL.
New Bedford Standard Times (1992-97)
New York Times (1980 - present)

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations and full-text articles from newspapers, newswires, and other news resources for local, regional, and national news from the U.S.

Find Journals by Title

Use this search box when you know the journal title you're looking for. If you're looking for articles by subject, see the Find Articles tab.

Librarian

Sonia Pacheco

She series

Contact:

spacheco@umassd.edu

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 237
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-999-8695

Subjects: Black Studies, Crime & Justice Studies, Global Languages and Cultures, History, Humanities, Political Science, Portuguese, Psychology, Public Policy, Social Sciences, Sociology, Women's Studies