About This Page
Here you will find all the tools you need to cite your sources properly including MLA (Modern Language Association) standards, information on avoiding plagarism, and a link to RefWorks, which allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database.
MLA Basics
We have both the MLA and APA Handbooks at the Reference Desk.
Please contact me for assistance on tricky citations!
OWL at Purdue (MLA) - This comprehensive guide for the 6th edition gives you several examples to help you format your citations.
Note: Here is the 7th. ed. link.
OWL at Purdue (APA) - Find help with APA citation questions here.
FAQs about MLA - This page is from the Modern Language Association to help you answer some questions about using MLA.
FAQs about APA - This page is from the American Psychological Association to help you answer some questions about using APA.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.
You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.
Plagiarism FAQs
UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!
Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.
Librarian |
2nd Floor Library, x8865
Send Email
Subjects:
Liaison to English and American Language and Literatures, Women's Studies, and African-American and Judaic literatures
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait