Skip to main content

Nursing

About This Page

This page contains tips & tricks for using PubMed, including how to find full-text articles.

PubMed vs. Medline

Medline has been around for more than 100 years, and includes over 20 million citations.

PubMed includes Medline, plus even more citations. It also links to free full-text articles!

We recommend that you use PubMed when searching for articles in the medical literature.

PubMed & RefWorks

Are you a RefWorks user?

Here are instructions on exporting citations from PubMed to RefWorks!

What is PubMed?

PubMed lets you search through millions of citations to articles in the medical literature.

Need to read the entire article?

  • Some of the articles are freely available in full-text.
  • Others are available in full-text through our library; use our Get It! @UMassD button to locate them 
  • Need an article we don't have? Request it through InterLibrary Loan!

Use the link below to search PubMed.

Searching PubMed: Some Advice

PubMed uses Automatic Term Mapping (or ATM) to find information. Put in a few words about your topic, and let the database do the work for you!

Look for MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings) listed with each article. You can use these to focus your research. Just click on a MeSH term to have PubMed execute a new search.

Limit your search using Filters on the left-hand side of the screen. Filtering by Publication dates and by Species can be very effective.

Filtering by Article types is also useful. Try Systematic Review, for example, to get an overview of the published evidence on a topic. Filtering for the Article type Randomized Controlled Trial will find articles in which experiments have been conducted which adhere to the highest standards of evidence based medicine.

Full-Text Articles in PubMed

For Open Access (freely available) full-text articles, select Free full text under the Text availability Filter.

For articles available through our library, the Get It! @ UMassD button will help you locate the full-text of those articles.

If we don't have the article online, follow the instructions after trying the Get It! @ UMassD button. You'll login to your UmassD account, and then be offered the option of requesting the article via InterLibrary Loan.