Library Guides: Online Resources for Remote Teaching: Find Primary Sources

About this Page

Access the archives' digital collections, search for physical resources related to your research, and locate primary sources online.

Archives & Special Collections department resources

1. Our finding aids, or collection inventories in ArchivesSpace, are at https://archivesspace.lib.umassd.edu/ This is often the first place to start in your research, to see if we have any physical resources related to your inquiry. Note that staff may have limited access to our collections during this period in time.

2. Our digital repository, where you can access digitized photographs, audio recordings, UMass Dartmouth graduate theses, and full-text historical university publications is at https://umassd-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/collectionDiscovery?vid=umassd_library&inst=UMASSD

3. Online access to full text Portuguese language newspapers is at https://www.lib.umassd.edu/paa/portuguese-american-digital-newspaper-collections

4. Consult the Historical Index to the Torch and other University Publications at https://umdserials.lib.umassd.edu/ to find citations to articles in many university publications, 1960-present. Once you've identified the citations you are interested in, please contact one of the archivists with the full citation. Our archivists will then provide you with the full text content. Please note that this service will be limited both for scheduling and quantity purposes.

American History primary sources on the web

American Antiquarian Society
The American Antiquarian Society is a national research library of American history and culture through 1876.
Civil Rights Digital Library
A comprehensive collection of documents relating to the civil rights movement in the U.S.
Early Americas Digital Archive
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Library of Congress
Primary sources related to American history
National Archives and Records Administration
Primary sources related to American history
U.S. State Department Historical Documents
Provides access to the Foreign Relations of the United States series, with many volumes in downloadable e-book formats.
Witchcraft Collection (Cornell University)
A digitized collection of rare books on witchcraft, including 17th century texts on the Salem witchcraft delusion.

World History primary sources on the web

HathiTrust Digital Library
Primary and secondary resources in the public domain
Internet Archive
Primary and secondary resources in the public domain
Project Gutenberg
Primary and secondary resources in the public domain. Emphasis on European works.
World War Two (University of Washington)
A an extensive list of primary sources for the military history of World War II. Courtesy of the University of Washington Libraries.
World War One (Brigham Young University)
A comprehensive list of primary sources for the history of World War I. Courtesy of Brigham Young University.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)
English-language translations of primary source documents from the ancient, medieval, and modern worlds.
Library of Ancient Texts Online
The internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation.
Perseus Digital Library (Tuffs University)
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
British History Online
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.