Skip to main content

Joseph E. Fernandes papers

This is an online exhibit that focuses on the life of Joseph Fernandes and the generational impact his chain of grocery stores had.

Welcome

 

The life and career of Joseph E. Fernandes 

 

This exhibit highlights the life of Joseph E. Fernandes through the archival materials that are found in his collection in the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives.  Additional information was taken from various sources which are identified. His daughter, Marcia, provided contextual information to the key aspects of his life that are covered in this exhibit. 

The finding aid for his papers can be found in the Archives and Special Collections  ArchiveSpace database under MC 99.

 

"...over decades, he's taken the threads of his life--Portu­gal, family, business and en­trepreneurship, the church, friends and relationships, a sense of caring and obligation--and woven them into a colorful, in­teresting, enduring tapestry."  Lori Heln

About the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives

The Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives are named for the pioneer Portuguese-language radio and newspaper personality, Affonso Gil Mendes Ferreira and house the largest collection of historical material documenting the experience of Portuguese immigrants and their descendants in the United States.

National in scope, the Archives contain documents of Portuguese-American individuals and organizations. Among its holdings are genealogical records, newspapers, books, recordings, family photographs, scrapbooks, business records and correspondence that document social history, illustrating the collective experience of immigration, settlement and life in the United States. The primary goal of the Archives is to make these rich and growing resources easily accessible to anyone interested in Portuguese-American history and culture.

Visit our website to learn more about the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives.