Library Guides: ENL 258: Literary Studies: Start Your Research

Starting Research in English Literature

These resources are great starting places by giving you background information on your author(s) and works. For the books listed, make sure to click on the title link to go the record to see if it's on the shelf or checked out.

Looking for Lorraine by Imani Perry
Call Number: 3rd Floor - General Collection PS3515.A515 Z84 2018
ISBN: 9780807064498
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Call Number: PS 153.N5 O96 1997
In Search of Nella Larsen by George Hutchinson
Call Number: 3rd Floor - General Collection PS3523.A7225 Z69 2006
ISBN: 9780674021808
Publication Date: 2006-05-30
Nella Larsen, Novelist of the Harlem Renaissance by Thadious M. Davis
Call Number: 3rd Floor - General Collection PS3523.A7225 Z63 1994
ISBN: 0807118664
Publication Date: 1994-02-01

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the full-text of biographical essays, literary criticism, reviews, and more related to lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres mostly focusing on the western world.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database searches the full-text of biograpahies, scholarly journals articles, and reviews on writers and specific works in all literary genres.

(VIDEO) Lorraine Hansberry : sighted eyes, feeling heart.
Strain, Tracy Heather, film director.; Rose, Anika Noni, 1972- contributor.; Richardson, LaTanya, 1949- contributor.; California Newsreel (Firm); Kanopy (Firm)
California Newsreel; 2017