RefWorks is a web-based citation manager.
Using RefWorks, you can:
I'm happy to meet with you one on one to help you get comfortable using this valuable tool!
This page includes instructions for some core skills in RefWorks. For virtually anything else you might want to do, try these video tutorials:
To add in-text citations to your paper, use the curly brackets in RefWorks. Don't worry about the current citation format in which the citations display; when you use the Format Paper function, you can set all the citations to the right format at the same time.
You can accurately format all your in-text citations and create a correctly formatted reference list at the same time! Just choose Format Document from the Bibliography menu.
Choose your desired output style and click select a file to choose the document you wish to format. Then open/save the document RefWorks creates for you.
Write-N-Cite enables you to use your RefWorks database within Microsoft Word, even if you're not connected to the internet. It also makes creating in-text citations and reference lists incredibly easy. You can use Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word for Windows or Mac.
Most databases have some kind of export button that will let you send citations directly to your RefWorks database. The following example is from CINAHL, but is not that different from the export process in any other library database.
On the right side of the page, choose Export.
In the Export Manager pop-up, choose Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save.
If you use Google Scholar, you can edit your settings to allow easy import of citations into your RefWorks database.
Login to your Google account, go to scholar, and then choose Settings.
Near the bottom of the Scholar Settings page, you'll see a Bibliography Manager section. Choose the radio button next to Show links to import citations into and select RefWorks from the drop-down list. Be sure to Save your settings at the top of the page.
Now you should see an Import to RefWorks link under each citation in Google Scholar.
To attach a document, such as the full-text pdf of an article, to a citation in your database, use the edit button.
An Edit Reference box will pop up. Scroll down and click the Browse button next to Attachments to choose the file you wish to attach.