Research Guides: Sociology: Find Articles and Journals

Journal Databases

Databases containing scholarly journal articles

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database that contains full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, SWOT analyses, company profiles, market research reports and more covering all aspects of business and management, accounting and finance and economics.
Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The database offers abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCO) is a database of literature in the field of education. While not dedicated to higher education, it will be helpful to students researching campus related issues.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can be a helpful supplement to the library's suite of databases. In particular, Google Scholar is a nice tool for performing forward citation searches. When using Google Scholar be sure to evaluate your source carefully. Link to UmassD in your settings to locate full text in the library catalog.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text archive of scholarly journal articles. Search JSTOR if you have a VERY specific topic. Most records do not include abstracts.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and more. It offers broad coverage of the political science literature, including subjects such as comparative politics, law and legislation, humanitarian issues, international relations, political theory, and non-governmental organizations.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. This multidisciplinary database contains the content of the most used ProQuest databases with several subjects areas covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
PsychInfo (EBSCO) may be a useful secondary database for students researching sociological topics that have psychological aspects.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text scholarly journal articles from National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. Topics include pre-clinical sciences, healthcare, clinical medicine, biomedical research, nursing, and allied health, among others. Includes access to PubMed Central.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocIndex (EBSCO) will be a good starting point for many Soc/Ant topics. It covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology and crime & justice studies.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) is a useful database when researching gender related issues.

Find Journals by title

Do NOT use the journal search to look for articles by subject. Only use the journal search when you know the title of a journal, magazine or newspaper. Use the databases above to look for articles by subject.

Librarian

Sonia Pacheco

She series

Contact:

spacheco@umassd.edu

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 237
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-999-8695

Subjects: Black Studies, Crime & Justice Studies, Global Languages and Cultures, History, Humanities, Political Science, Portuguese, Psychology, Public Policy, Social Sciences, Sociology, Women's Studies