Skip to main content

Portuguese Studies

About This Page

When citing sources for your paper you will use the citation style your professor assigns. In Portuguese Studies, that style is often the Modern Languages Association (MLA) style. This page provides links to style guides for MLA and Chicago (the style commonly used in the general humanities), information on avoiding plagarism, and RefWorks, which allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

Citation Basics

We have both the MLA and Chicago manuals in the library. Contact us or the Writing/Reading Center (x8710)  for assistance on tricky citations!

MLA

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing - Revised in 2008, this manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.

 OWL at Purdue (MLA) - Find help with MLA style questions here.

Chicago

OWL at Purdue (Chicago) - Find help with Chicago style questions here.

Research and Documentation Online - This site provides nice examples of citing in Chicago format. It's based on information in the 5th edition of "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age" by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister. 

Tutorial

Take the following online tutorial to learn more about when and why you cite sources.

Citing Sources: Why &  When


Tutorial: Citing Sources

Self Assessment: Citing Sources

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.

Librarian

Sonia Pacheco's picture
Sonia Pacheco
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives
Room M07 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu
508-999-8695