Skip to main content

Chemistry

About This Page

Our library subscribes to many databases that provide citations, abstracts, and sometimes links to full-text articles. This page identifies useful databases to which the library subscribes. 

Citation Style

There are a number of citation styles used in Chemistry.  Check with your professor to find out what style you should be using.  Some common ones in the sciences are:

CSE Style.  CSE stands for Council of Science Editors.  Our library home page has a link to Citation Help and you will find a brief description of CSE Style there along with some examples of the most common types of citations.


ACS Style.  There is a manual containing the style used by the American Chemical Society. 

The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information can be found in the library on the 1st floor under call number REF QD8.5 .A25 2006

Search for Journal Articles

You may remember using Academic OneFile or Expanded Academic Index for your beginner level Englaish classes.  These two databases include articles from many thousands of journals in all subject areas.  It is quite possible that if you are looking for a few articles to get you started you will have success in either of these two databases.

Academic OneFile

Expanded Academic Index

General Science Abstracts

Applied Science and Technology Index

Analytical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar

Subject Guide

Carney Library Reference Librarians's picture
Carney Library Reference Librarians
Please enable JavaScript to see this chat box.
Contact:
Email us any time!

Visit us in the Carney Library
Learning Commons (1st Floor)

Call us: 508-999-8678
Text us: 508-507-2275