How Can I Tell the Difference
|
|
Magazines |
Journals |
|
Appearance |
Often contain color images, likely have an attractive and glossy appearance |
Very text heavy, limited pictures and graphics, black & white |
|
Advertisements |
Often glossy and abundant |
Generally very limited, advertisements relevant to discipline (e.g., no Wendy’s, Best Buy, etc.) |
|
Audience |
General |
Scholars & students |
|
Authors |
Journalists/Reporters |
Scholars, experts in the field |
|
Content |
Secondary reporting, easy to read, articles edited by magazine editors |
Original Research, discipline specific jargon, articles often undergo a “peer review” process |
|
Purpose |
Provide general information |
Report findings of original research, serve as record of discipline specific knowledge |
These databases may require a UMass Darmouth e-mail account to use from off campus
Many more discipline-specific databases are available on the library's Articles and Database page.
This database contains citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from schoarly and journals in the psychological sciences, including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, and industrial/organizational psychology. APA PsycArticles is included within this database.
Click the Thesaurus (middle term on the left on the blue bar at the top of the screen)
Input your search term (e.g., "inclusion") in the second box down in the next screen
The next screen will display thesaurus terms that most closely match your search term
Scroll to the most accurate term and click ON it
Click on the most accurate term to view its definition (aka scope)
If that is the term you wish to search, click the box to the left of it and
click "add" just above the list.
The term will appear in the search box at the top of the screen
Click “search”
At the next screen look on the left side of the screen for “refine your results.”
Scroll to “Source Types” and click the box to the left of “peer reviewed journals”
Click on “update” at the next screen
Click the box to the left of “Suggest Subject Terms” which is above the search boxes
Input your search term
The next screen will display the thesaurus terms that most closely match your search term
Scroll to the most accurate term and click ON it
A list of subheadings will display
Click on the most accurate term to view its definition (scope)
If that is the term you wish to search, click the box to the left of it and click "add" just above the list.
The term will appear in the search box at the top of the screen
Click “search”
At the next screen look on the left side of the screen for “refine your results.”
Scroll to “Source Types” and click the box to the left of “peer reviewed journals”
Click on “update” at the next screen
