Research Guides: SOA 111 Honors: Cultural Area Research Project: Find Articles

About this Page

Reading a book review or article may help you choose, or better understand, an ethnography. This page lists a few databases that include book reviews and scholarly articles.

Journal Databases

JSTOR
Looking for an ethnography? Use JSTOR to search for book reviews of ethnographies on your topic. Search for your topic AND "ethnograph*." Be sure to limit to "Review."

See an example of how to use JSTOR to find book reviews.

SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocIndex is a general social science database and includes journals covering Anthropology and Sociology.
Anthropological Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles, books, and more covering international anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary fields.
AnthroSource (American Anthropological Association) This link opens in a new window
The database includes full-text articles from 32 journals, including current issues of 15-peer-reviewd AAA journals. The content is great, but it isn't easy to search. Try this database if you have a specific topic, such as a specific ethnic group, that you're looking for.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can be a helpful supplement to the library's suite of databases. In particular, Google Scholar is a nice tool for performing forward citation searches. When using Google Scholar be sure to evaluate your sources carefully. Use the library's catalog or Journal Locator to determine whether the library owns the item.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International is a useful database when researching gender related aspects of an issue.