Art History: Find Articles

A comprehensive database of current scholarly journals, magazines, and more in the fields of visual and applied arts covering all time periods all over the world. This also searches ARTbibliographies Modern, Design & Applied Arts Index, Arts & Humanities Database, and the International Bibliography of Art.

This is known as the go-to database of art history and covers all time periods. You can search through scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of art, architecture, and design published since 1984.

This database is just like Art Index (see above) except it only includes scholarly journals and magazines that were published between 1929 -1984 in all areas of art created before 1984.

JSTOR is a great place for scholarly art research (it also includes other subjects). You can find articles from the 1800s to present and book chapters also show up in a search! If you don't absolutely need something that was published in the last 6 years, search as is. If you do want to find resources from the past 6 years, under "Select an access type" choose "All Content." If you only find a citation, use the other box on this page to see if we have access to the journal or book, otherwise see the Interlibrary loan tab.

This database covers lots of subjects, but it's great for searching art related scholarly journals. It automatically only searches "only content I have access to," so if you're not finding something try checking "all content" instead. You might have to interlibrary loan something but first use the other box on this page to double check we don't have access to it elsewhere.

Researching western art history from ancient times until mid-00s? Don't care if you can't find anything published after 2007? This is a good place to look if you've tried everything else on here. You won't find any full-text articles, but this will help you find citations for articles, books, exhibition catalogs, etc. that you can search for in our catalog (see the other box on this page) and request from interlibrary loan (see the appropriate tab) if we don't have it.