Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Search in a database

Rivane Neuenschwander, Zé Carioca no. 4, A Volta de Zé Carioca (1960). Edição Histórica, Ed. Abril, 2004,
synthetic polymer paint and ink on printed paper, each sheet 7 1/2 x 5 1/4" (19.1 x 13.3 cm),
Museum of Modern Art, New York, https://www.moma.org/collection/works/94491?locale=en.

Our library subscribes to many databases that you can search to find citations and/or full-text to articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

Here's what we suggest for philosophy:

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 until present. It searches scholarly journals, books, and book reviews.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database searches scholarly journals, magazines, and more in the field of philosophy as well as the arts and other areas of the humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database covers lots of subjects, but it's great for searching philosophy related scholarly journals. It automatically only searches "only content I have access to," so if you're not finding something try checking "all content" instead. You might have to interlibrary loan something but first use the other box on this page to double check we don't have access to it elsewhere.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great place for scholarly philosophy research (it also includes other subjects). You can find articles from the 1800s to present and book chapters also show up in a search! If you don't absolutely need something that was published in the last 6 years, search as is. If you do want to find resources from the past 6 years, under "Select an access type" choose "All Content." If you only find a citation, use the other box on this page to see if we have access to the journal or book, otherwise see the Interlibrary loan tab.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Philosophy is just one of the topics covered in this humanities-focused database. It includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text of scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and more.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!