Research Guides: Music Education: Find Articles

Search in a Database

The front of a post card that pictures several children of different ages with a variety of instruments sitting on the floor recieving a music lesson.

Unknown Artist, A Music Lesson at the Teacher's House, No. 2 (from an unidentified series),
early 20th century, collotype with hand coloring; ink on card stock, 3 7/16 x 5 7/16" (8.8 x 13.8 cm), Museum of Fine Arts, Boston,
http://www.mfa.org/collections/object/a-music-lesson-at-the-teachers-house-no-2-from-an-unidentified-series-433482.

Our library subscribes to many databases that you can search to find citations and/or full-text to articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

Most articles on music education are found in education-focused databases, so here's what we suggest for education:

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the go-to education database. It collects scholarly journal articles as well as reports. It includes a good amount on music education topics!
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database collects lots of education related journals. You should have no problem finding music education related research here.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
While there aren't as many full-text articles in here as the others, searching this will help you find the citations of articles from some of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines and includes music education related materials.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!