Research Guides: IAD 401: Special Topics 2: Find Articles

Recommended databases

Databases allow you to structure a search for terms in a more limited and curated place than a typical search engine.

Our library subscribes to many databases that provide citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholary journals.

To find peer-reviewed articles, there's usually a setting in advanced search or on the left side of the search results to limit by this!

Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database covers subjects such as interior design, architecture, and more. Full-text, citations, and abstracts are included from journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is very similar to Art, Design & Architecture, but they do search some different magazines, journals, and newspapers. You'll get a more arts/design edge versus the other databases, so keep that in mind.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the education-related database. If you want to approach something from the perspective of education, this is a good place to test out some of your search terms.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the go-to database for sociology related resources. The topics you're researching for this class definitely have ties to sociology, so try out some search terms in here in order to build on that perspective.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!