Research Guides: Religious Studies: Find Articles

Search in a Database

From MFA website: "haped like architectural facade, maybe of a synagogue, with an arched balustrate on top, three window in the middle tier, side panels. Surmounetd by birds, also featured below. Two servant lights, for use in the Sabbat as welll."
Anonymous, Hanukkah lamp, late 18th-19th century, brass, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, https://collections.mfa.org/objects/565289/hanukkah-lamp.

Our library subscribes to many databases that you can search to find citations and/or full-text to articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

One of the fun things about religious studies is that many different disciplines can have something to say about it. The databases are grouped below by their specific focus or inclusiveness of religious studies and those for different subject areas that would be useful to search in for your religious studies topic.

Religious studies specific

Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search through scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more all focused on religions from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great place for scholarly religion research (it also includes other subjects). You can find articles from the 1800s to present and book chapters also show up in a search! If you don't absolutely need something that was published in the last 6 years, search as is. If you do want to find resources from the past 6 years, under "Select an access type" choose "All Content." If you only find a citation, use the other box on this page to see if we have access to the journal or book, otherwise see the Interlibrary loan tab.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
While this database has a more broad focus of the humanities, it includes citations and full-text articles from magazines and scholarly journals related to religious studies.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on philosophy, which is very closely tied to religious studies. It only collects scholarly research published since 1940.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database covers lots of subjects, but it's great for searching religious studies related scholarly journals. It automatically only searches "only content I have access to," so if you're not finding something try checking "all content" instead. You might have to interlibrary loan something but first use the other box on this page to double check we don't have access to it elsewhere.

Other useful subject databases

Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Try searching for your religious studies topics in here to get an art-centered approach. For thousands of years, art was how the stories of some religions were communicated. Still now, the influences of religion are found in contemporary art. This database searches in scholarly journals as well as newspapers in magazines focused on art.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
For a world history perspective (that excludes the US and Canada) on your topic, search in this database. It collects the full-text and citations for scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, as well as the citations for some books.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Taking a look at almost any topic from a psychological perspective can provide an interesting angle. Try searching for your topic here, or even just a religion, to see what research has been done related to it in psychology. This searches scholarly work only.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers all facets of women's studies, an extremely interdisciplinary field. Searching for something as simple as a religion in here offers interesting results! It collects scholarly journals as well as magazines and newspapers on the topic.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!

Librarian

Sonia Pacheco

She series

Contact:

spacheco@umassd.edu

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 237
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-999-8695

Subjects: Black Studies, Crime & Justice Studies, Global Languages and Cultures, History, Humanities, Political Science, Portuguese, Psychology, Public Policy, Social Sciences, Sociology, Women's Studies