Databases contain lots of different types of articles those from magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals. Below are some that are particularly relevant to Crime and Justice Studies. A complete list of databases is on the library website.
(EBSCO) - includes coverage of more than 1,000 core titles and features full text for more than 600 active periodicals. The database offers abstracts, indexing and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. It includes a subject-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.
A collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
offers access to many full-text journal articles as well as full-text ERIC documents available on Department of Education web site. Students and faculty wishing to conduct advanced searches will likely find this version easier to use than the open access version.
Google Scholar can be a helpful supplement to the library's suite of databases. In particular, Google Scholar is helpful for performing forward citation searches. When using Google Scholar be sure to evaluate your source carefully. Use the library's catalog to determine if the library owns the item.
This “free” web-based database offers access to many full-text publications and statistics as well as citations and abstracts to additional journal articles and reports. Remember to check the library's holdings if NCJRS only provides a citation and abstract. Use the library's Interlibrary Loan service to obtain articles and reports not owned by the library.
Offers broad coverage of the political science literature, including subjects such as comparative politics, law and legislation, humanitarian issues, international relations, political theory and non-governmental organizations. It includes full-text access to many titles.
"A multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more."
(EBSCO) - Offers coverage of all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminal justice, political science, social work, and social psychology. The database includes full-text for more than 300 journals, 545 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.