This is the "Welcome" page of the "Sources for University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (UMD) History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to published and unpublished sources for uncovering the history of UMass Dartmouth, 1895-present.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umassd.edu/UMDHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Archives and Special Collections

       

  • Do you need to research a topic, person or organization connected with the history of UMass Dartmouth? 
  • Do you need to include primary resources in a term paper? 
  • Consulting primary resource materials held by the Archives and Special Collections will answer a number of questions not found in published sources.
  • The University Archives are a part of the Claire T. Carney Library Archives and Special Collections and share space with the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives.   The entrance is located on the quad side of the campus; the archives is open Monday through Friday 9:30-5:00. 
 

What is in the Archives?

Photo albums in the Archives.

Archives are not organized in the same way library books and other materials are.  They typically consist of boxes of office records, papers, manuscripts, photographs, audio visual materials, scrapbooks, and publications, and are maintained as collections of materials from a single office or individual, not as individual items.  The contents of these collections are described in finding aids, which are an archival version of an inventory with background information on the collector or creator, and information on the context in which it was collected. 

Manuscript boxes during processing.

Contact the Archivist

Profile Image
Judy Farrar
Contact Info
Archives and Special Collections Librarian
jfarrar@umassd.edu
508-999-8686
Send Email
Email:
jfarrar@umassd.edu
Blog:
http://www.archivesblog.lib.umassd.edu
Website:
http://www.lib.umassd.edu/archives/
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip