Skip to Main Content

Sources for University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (UMD) History

About This Page

Here you will find sample citations to use with special types of materials in the Claire T. Carney Library Archives and Special Collections.

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.

RefWorks

Ref Works logo

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

Lib tip logo

RefWorks calls the Chicago Manual system used by historians and other scholars and students in the humanities "CHICAGO  NOTES."

 

Using the Chicago Manual

Historians generally prefer the Chicago Manual style of citation, which is published in the Chicago Manual of Style. 16th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010. REF Z253 U69 2010.  There is an EXTENSIVE INDEX that will lead you to the correct way to cite anything.  There is an online guide at http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html

Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. 7th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007 may be more familiar to you. REF LB2369 T8 2007

The library web site has a brief basic guide to using Chicago Manual style.

Citing unpublished material in archives - some examples

Typical elements of a citation include: document title, document date, location information, collection title, collection number, and repository name. Elements of a citation are usually listed from the most specific to the most general.

 Unpublished manuscripts:

Jim Student, "History of Dartmouth, MA" (unpublished manuscript, January 2, 2013)

Jim Student, "History of Dartmouth, MA." Unpublished manuscript, last modified January 1, 2013.  Microsoft Word.

Manuscript collections:

General citation for bibliographies:

UMass Dartmouth Office of the Chancellor, John Russell Brazil, Records, URC 10, Claire T. Carney Library Archives and Special Collections, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Specific item cited in notes:

Donald Howard  to John Brazil, Oct. 11, 1969, box 11, folder 1, URC 10, Claire T. Carney Library Archinves and Special Collections, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Speech, Aug. 10, 1969, box 15, folder 8, John Brazil papers, MC 10, Claire T. Carney Library Archinves and Special Collections, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Maps

Map of Svalbard, 1902 [Cartographic record]. Map Folder 99 b. Map Collection, Michigan Tech Archives & Copper Country Historical Collections, Michigan Technological University, Michigan.

Archives on the Internet:

For bibliography

"Paul Rudolph and His Architecture,"  Claire T. Carney Library, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, last modified June 3, 2006, accessed May 22, 2013.  https://prudolph.lib.umassd.edu/

For notes:

"The James Temmer House, Bonita Springs, FLA," in "Paul Rudolph and His Architecture,"  Claire T. Carney Library, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, last modified June 3, 2006, accessed May 22, 2013.  https://prudolph.lib.umassd.edu/

Book on the internet

Grant Ian Thrall, Land Use and Urban Form (New York: Methuen, 1987), http://www.rri.wvu.edu/WebBook/Thrallbook/Land%20Use%20and%20Urban%20Form.pdf.

Digital Photograph

Photograph  "William Taylor and James Costa signing the ESU contract." 1975. UMass Dartmouth PhotoGraphics Image Database http://www.lib.umassd.edu/photographicss, UMass Dartmouth. Accessed 3/23/07.

Citing archived web sites (like from the Wayback Machine)

McDonald, R. C. "Basic Canary Care." _Robirda Online_. 12 Sept. 2004. 18 Dec. 2006 . _Internet Archive_. < http://web.archive.org/web/20041009202820/http://www.robirda.com/cancare.html>.