Skip to main content

Library Services Spring 2020

Judy Farrar

Judy  Farrar's picture
Judy Farrar
Contact:
Email Me Anytime!

Claire T. Carney Library
Archives & Special Collections
Room M08 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

jfarrar@umassd.edu
508-999-8686
Subjects:Archives

Sonia Pacheco

Sonia Pacheco's picture
Sonia Pacheco
chat loading...
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives
Room M07 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu
508-999-8695

I have a general question about the Archives & Special Collections.

I have a question about university and/or local history. Who do I contact?

Contact archivist Judy Farrar at jfarrar@umassd.edu. Collections and/or research interests she supports include the Schooner Ernestina-Morrissey Archives, the Archives of the Center for Jewish Culture, the Franco American Historical Collection, the Howard T. Glasser Archives of Folk Music and Letter Arts, the Robert F. Kennedy Assassination Archives, the Congressman Barney Frank Archives, and the Brazilian American Cultural Institute Archives. 

I have a question about the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives. Who do I contact?

For questions regarding the Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives, or inquiries from faculty and students in the History, Portuguese or Foreign Language Departments, please contact library liaison and archivist Sonia Pacheco at spacheco@umassd.edu.

When can I expect a response from someone in Archives & Special Collections?

We will acknowledge emails within 24 hours if received Monday through Friday. How long it will take for us to address your inquiry will vary and will be based on the nature of the question. In some situations it may be possible to provide immediate answers; while in other situations, staff may not have access to the collections required to respond to your query. When possible, staff will consult collections for query purposes, or digitize items. Digital copies of resources will be sent by email or Dropbox link. 

What online resources from Archives & Special Collections are available?

 1.  Our finding aids, or collection inventories in ArchivesSpace, are at https://archivesspace.lib.umassd.edu/ This is often the first place to start in your research, to see if we have any physical resources related to your inquiry.
 

2.  Our digital repository, where you can access digitized photographs, audio recordings, UMass Dartmouth graduate theses, and full-text historical university publications is at https://umassd-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/collectionDiscovery?vid=umassd_library&inst=UMASSD
 

3.  Online access to full text Portuguese language newspapers is at https://www.lib.umassd.edu/paa/portuguese-american-digital-newspaper-collections
 

4.  Consult the Historical Index to the Torch and other University Publications at https://umdserials.lib.umassd.edu/ to find citations to articles in many university publications, 1960-present.