ARH 349: Architecture & Sustainability in American Post-Industrial Cities: Scholarly

An American-history focused database. It allows you to search through scholarly journals as well as magazines. Be sure to limit your search to "peer reviewed" to see scholarly only.

This is a broad database that covers all areas of art, design, and architecture. It searches through more than just scholarly journals, so if that's what you're looking for, be sure to check the "peer reviewed" box to limit your search.

I love JSTOR but it's best only for certain needs. It has scholarly journals from their first issues (some date back to the 1800's) to between two and five years prior to the present. It covers many subjects including architecture and architectural history, art history, garden and landscape, and urban studies. It automatically only searches stuff we have full-text access to but as long as you're not doing this the night before something is due, use Advanced Search and change the "Select an access type" option to "All Content." Use the Interlibrary Loan tab on here if you find something we don't seem to have in full-text.

This database covers lots of subjects, but it's great for searching art, architecture, preservation, and urban planning related scholarly journals. It automatically only searches "only content I have access to," so if you're not finding something try checking "all content" instead. You might have to interlibrary loan something but first use the other box on this page to double check we don't have access to it elsewhere.

If you want to investigate anything that leans more towards human issues vs. art or humanities, this is a good one! This is a social science-focused database that allows you to search through scholarly journals and magazines. Be sure to limit your search to "peer reviewed" to only see scholarly sources.