Skip to Main Content

Foreign Literatures and Languages

About This Page

Students and scholars in the arts and humanities generally use either the MLA or Chicago Manual system for citing works used in research projects.

Here you will find the UMD library's brief guide to using MLA  and Chicago Manual styles  as well as a citation to the complete MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and Chicago Manual of Style.   A copy of the  most recent edition of each guide is kept at the reference desk on the first floor of the library.

Documenting your research completely, accurately, and in a correct format is essential.  Information on avoiding plagiarism, and a link to RefWorks, a program that allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database also appear on this page.

 

 

Using the MLA Style

The Modern Language Association's  MLA Handboook for Writers of Research Papers is the official, authoritative guide to citing sources in the MLA format.  It also includes valuable chapters on research, evaluating sources, writing, and avoiding plagiarism.

Modern Language Association. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.   7th edition.  New York: MLA, 2009. print.

There is a copy at the reference desk. Call number: Desk Ref LB2369 G53 2009

The library web site has a brief basic guide to MLA style.

 

Note that MLA style now requires you to  include the format of your source: print, web, film, etc.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

NOTES: RefWorks seems to have problems creating citations in the new MLA style; make sure to check citations for correct format!

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Pacheco
chat loading...
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives
Room M07 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu
508-999-8695