Skip to Main Content

Foreign Literatures and Languages

Interlibrary loan provides books and journal articles not found in the Carney Library collection

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan is the system for requesting materials--books and journal articles--not owned by  the borrowing library.  This page provides information and links for submitting interlibrary loan requests.

Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

If  you identify a book that is not owned by UMass Dartmouth in either the Claire T. Carney Library or the Law School Library, you may request a copy through interlibrary loan.  How long interlibrary loan takes depends on the lending library, but  requests are usually filled within a week.  There is no emergency, over-night interlibrary loan, though, so it is a good idea to request materials well before the project is due.  Note that some materials,   including Ph.D. dissertations are usually unavailable through interlibrary loan. 

Please fill out a book request form for each book (or material in any other format that would be returned to the lending library).

Note that  textbooks and other material (DVDs, CDs, etc.) required for UMass Dartmouth classess that are available for sale at the campus store may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

Most subject-specific databases included little or no full text.  First check to see if the article is available, in electronic or paper format, in the library collection.  Some databases provide a link to check availability; for others, please click the Find Journals by Title tab in this guide.

If the article is unavailable in the UMass Dartmouth collection, please fill out an article request form.  How long will delivery take?  It depends on the lending library, but it is likely to arrive within a week.  But there is no emergency, over-night service, so it is advisable to make requests as soon as you can!

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Pacheco
chat loading...
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives
Room M07 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu
508-999-8695