Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources

Open Video Resources

Archive of American Television     (http://www.emmytvlegends.org/interviews/people)

  • A collection of interviews of people involved in broadcast history.  

​British Pathe (http://www.britishpathe.com/)

  • A collection of films and clips from 1890 - 2011.

British University Film Gateway (http://bufvc.ac.uk/gateway/)

  • The BUFVC Moving Image Gateway includes over 1,700 websites relating to video, multimedia and sound materials representing more than 40 subject areas.

Internet Archive Stock Footage (https://archive.org/details/stock_footage?&sort=-downloads&page=2)

  • A collection of stock footage clips submitted by Internet Archive users. These clips are designed to be used in other videos in accordance to creative commons.

Internet Archive Moving Image (https://archive.org/details/movies)

  • Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.

Library of Congress Videos       (https://www.youtube.com/user/LibraryOfCongress/featured)

  • The Library of Congress collection early historic films and general presentations and lectures sponsored

National Archives Videos        (https://www.youtube.com/user/usnationalarchives/videos)

  • The National Archives' YouTube videos comprised of films from the collection as well as presentations and lectures.
Nature Videos (https://www.youtube.com/user/NatureVideoChannel/videos)

  • You can also visit the Nature Video YouTube channel which enables you to easily embed and share our videos through websites, mobile devices, blogs and email.

Nature Podcasts (http://www.nature.com/nature/podcast/index.html)

  • Each week Nature publishes a free audio show. Every show features highlighted content from the week's edition of Natureincluding interviews with the people behind the science, and in-depth commentary and analysis from journalists covering science around the world.

The Open Video Project (http://www.open-video.org/)

  • A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes

Prelinger Archives (https://archive.org/details/prelinger&tab=about)

  • Holding of thousands of video and films of home movies, amateur and industrial films.

Public Domain Flicks (http://www.publicdomainflicks.com/browse/title/1/)

  • A collection of free public domain full length films. films.

Smithsonian Channel     (https://www.youtube.com/user/smithsonianchannel/featured)

  • A collection of videos on various topics including science, history, culture and arts.

VIMEO Creative Commons (https://vimeo.com/creativecommons)

  • A gateway to films under the creative commons license.
WBGH Lab (http://worldchannel.org/​)
  • A collection of shorts films on various topics.
 

Open Image Resources

National Gallery of Art (Open Access Images (nga.gov)

  • The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.

Metropolitan Museum of Art (Open Access - The Metropolitan Museum of Art (metmuseum.org)

Pixabay (3.9 million+ Stunning Free Images to Use Anywhere - Pixabay - Pixabay)

  • Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing royalty-free images, videos, audio and other media. All content is released by Pixabay under the Content License, which makes it safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for certain commercial purposes.

Pexels (Free Stock Photos, Royalty Free Stock Images & Copyright Free Pictures · Pexels)

  • Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages. We have hundreds of thousands free stock photos and every day new high resolution photos will be added.
British Library (https:www.flickr.com/photos/britishlibrary/albums)
  • More than million 17th, 18th and 19th century images from books held in the British Library.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (http://dp.la/exhibitions)

  • Contains links to a wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States (so not international).
  • The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources. However, many items are public domain or available for re-use, and there is information in a "rights" field for each item.

Earth Science World Images   (http://www.earthscienceworld.org/images/index.html)

  • A collection of photographs of all aspects of Earth Science.

Europeana (http://www.europeana.eu/portal/)

  • Digital photographs resources from Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections. 

Flickr: Creative Commons (http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/)

  • A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
HathiTrust (http://www.hathitrust.org/)
  • HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Library of Congress Digital Collections (http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html)

  • Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections

Medical Heritage Library (http://www.medicalheritage.org/search/)

  • The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals and film number in the tens of thousands, will representative works from each of the past six centuries.

National Archives (NARA)     (http://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/photography.html#nara)

  • A portal to photographs from libraries and archives throughout the United States.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library     (http://www.photolib.noaa.gov)

  • A collection of photographs representing observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency.

NY Public Library Digital Gallery    (http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm)

  • Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.

Public Domain (http://www.publicdomainreview.org/about/)

  • Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety.

Structurae (http://structurae.net/structures/)

  • The largest image database for Civil and Structural Engineers

UMassD Visual Resource Center     (http://www.umassd.edu/cvpa/vrc/artsmediaresources/)

  • A directory of links to museum and library collection databases, lectures, interviews, virtual tours related to the arts and culture.

Unsplash (Download Free Pictures & Images [HD] | Unsplash)

  • Explore the world's premier collection of high-quality pictures—submitted by our community of talented contributors and completely free to use for any purpose.

U.S. Fish and Wildfire Service National Digital Library   (http://www.digitalmedia.fws.gov)

  • A searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain.
​U.S. Government Photos and Images (https://search.usa.gov/search?affiliate=usagov&query=photo+library)
  • A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.

Scholarly Communication Librarian

Profile Photo
Emma Wood
She/Her
Contact:
emma.wood@umassd.edu

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 134
285 Old Westport Rd
Dartmouth, MA 02747
508-999-8681

Access Services & Library Information: 508-999-8750
Main Campus Telephone: 508-999-8000 • Reference Help Line: 508-999-8678 • Contact Reference
Claire T. Carney Library • University of Massachusetts Dartmouth © 2018
285 Old Westport Road, North Dartmouth, MA 02747-2300