Find Articles - IAD 201: Studio III - Sustainable Design - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Suggested Databases

Databases allow you to structure a search for resources in a more selective place than a typical search engine.

Our library subscribes to many databases that provide citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholary journals.

To find peer-reviewed articles, there's usually a setting in advanced search or on the left side of the search results to limit by this!

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus, including sustainability, architecture, interior design, and more.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database covers all facets of art, design, and architecture including interior design, architecture, furniture design, industrial design, landscape architecture, and more. It includes full-text, citations, and abstracts from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, and reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database with mostly full-text scholarly journals from their first issues (some date back to the 1800's) to between two and five years prior to the present. It covers many subjects including architecture and architectural history, garden and landscape, and urban studies.

USModernist Library
Still in its infancy, you can search for architects, specific houses, or general keywords in this database that searches through free US 20th-century architecture magazines.

Suggested Magazines

Browsing is a great way to stumble upon some inspiration. Try browsing these relevant magazines!

For those that are in the library catalog, go to the "Find Online" tab to see the databases that have them.

Architectural Digest
Architectural Record
Contract
Note that their last issue was released in July 2020, but you can still browse their past issues.
Design New England
OnOffice Magazine
USGBC+
Work Design Magazine

Suggested Scholarly & Trade Journals

Feel free to browse these scholarly and trade journals for inspiration.

Once you click on the titles below, go to the "Find Online" tab to see the databases that have them.

Architect
Design Cost Data
Design Issues
Environmental Design & Construction
Environment and Society
Interior Design
This link will show you places to browse and search their archived issues (1996-2015) See their website for more current issues.
Sustainable Facility

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!

IAD 201: Studio III - Sustainable Design: Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Suggested Magazines

Suggested Scholarly & Trade Journals

Already have a citation but not full-text?