Research Guides: Interior Architecture + Design: Find Articles

Search in a database

Alexander Jackson Davis, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Student Libraries (two sections), 1850-58,
watercolor, ink and graphite, 15 7/8 x 10 11/16 in. (40.4 x 27.2 cm), Metropolitan Museum of Art,
New York, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/394191.

Our library subscribes to many databases that you can search to find citations and/or full-text to articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

Here's what we suggest for interior architecture and design research.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus, including sustainability, architecture, interior design, and more.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database covers subjects such as interior design, architecture, and more. Full-text, citations, and abstracts are included from journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database is a great place to go for sustainability related research. You'll find citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and magazines as well as government documents and reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great place for scholarly research on IA+D topics like architecture and architectural history, garden and landscape, and urban studies. You can find articles from the 1800s to present and book chapters also show up in a search! If you don't absolutely need something that was published in the last 6 years, search as is. If you do want to find resources from the past 6 years, under "Select an access type" choose "All Content." If you only find a citation, use the other box on this page to see if we have access to the journal or book, otherwise see the Interlibrary loan tab.

USModernist Library
Still in its infancy, you can search for architects, specific houses, or general keywords in this database that searches through free US 20th-century architecture magazines.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!