Research Guides: CJS 190: Introduction to Crime and Justice Studies: Find Articles

Crime and Justice Studies Databases

Databases contain lots of different types of articles those from magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals. Below are some that are particularly relevant to Crime and Justice Studies. A complete list of databases is on the library website.

Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The database offers abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts, citations, and some full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals and more on crime and justice studies, criminology, and related disciplines.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, dissertations, and more related to law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use ERIC to locate articles related to higher education, education policy, and other topics in education.
Global Issues (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Issue and country pages provide analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and culture issues.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can be a helpful supplement to the library's suite of databases. In particular, Google Scholar is helpful for performing forward citation searches. When using Google Scholar be sure to evaluate your source carefully. Link Google Scholar to UMD Libraries to determine if the library owns the item.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
This “free” web-based database offers access to many full-text publications and statistics as well as citations and abstracts to additional journal articles and reports. Remember to check the library's holdings if NCJRS only provides a citation and abstract. Use the library's Interlibrary Loan service to obtain articles and reports not owned by the library.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource offers concise topic overviews on current and controversial issues as well as links to reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and more. It offers broad coverage of the political science literature, including subjects such as comparative politics, law and legislation, humanitarian issues, international relations, political theory, and non-governmental organizations.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. This multidisciplinary database contains the content of the most used ProQuest databases with several subjects areas covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and more. Offers coverage of all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminal justice, political science, social work, and social psychology.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, including latest scholarship in feminist research. Topics include sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education.

Librarian

Sonia Pacheco

She series

Contact:

spacheco@umassd.edu

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 237
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

508-999-8695

Subjects: Black Studies, Crime & Justice Studies, Global Languages and Cultures, History, Humanities, Political Science, Portuguese, Psychology, Public Policy, Social Sciences, Sociology, Women's Studies