IAD 216: Textiles, Products, and Materials: Browse Online Resources

Arch Daily includes architecture news and current information on projects, materials and products for architecture.

An online community for architects, designers, home-owners and design enthusiasts with a carefully considered showcase of over 400.000 premium design products and materials.

A green design and lifestyle site that provides coverage of environmental news and the latest in sustainable design.

Material Bank allows you to search for and get samples of materials from leading brands.

MaterialDistrict showcases innovative materials and material solutions.

A searchable database of metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. If you want extremely detailed, science-y, information about most (not all) of the materials on the list, go here.

A design industry initiative that provides information on human health and environmental impacts for products from leading manufacturers.

Also known as Oxford Art Online, our subscription to this resource allows you to search the encylclopedic entries of the Grove Dictionary of Art for artists, movements, places, mediums, and more.

A catalog of materials that are cutting edge and redefine the physical environment.

This is the GSA's homepage for their documentation in relation to historic preservation. Think of it as the US government's official handbook of how they deal with preservation issues. Includes lots of basic info about materials!

This magazine profiles the designers creating inventive spaces in hospitality venues large and small, global and local.Browse their archived issues here. See their website for more information.

The leading publication for commercial interior design and architecture, connecting professionals and covering products and practice issues that set the standards in the industry. (Their last issue was released in July 2020, but you can still browse their past issues.)

This magazine functions as a trade outlet and voice for the hospitality design industry. It serves owners, operators, brands, purchasing agents, interior designers, and architects involved in the design of hotels, resorts, restaurants, nightlife, spas, and all other hospitality-oriented projects. Use this link to search the publication from a database. You can also browse their website.

Interior Design Magazine is an essential design authority that connects the industry with relevant and real-time content. Browse their archived issues (1996-2015) here and see their website for more current issues.

This architecture and design magazine from Italy publishes articles about architecture, the applied arts, industrial design, art, urban planning and digital communications, always with an international perspective.

A digital architecture and design magazine that publishes the latest news and key issues in the fields of architecture, design, technology and art.

This is an open-access journal (which means free for all folks to read and not locked in a database) and not included in the recommended database. Materials covered include: cement, concrete reinforcement, bricks and mortars, additives, corrosion technology, ceramics, timber, steel, polymers, glass fibres, recycled materials, bamboo, rammed earth, non-conventional building materials, bituminous materials and railway material applications.

Another science-heavy, open-access journal. Very fibers focused (surprise!).

Another science-heavy, open-access journal not included in our other databases. If you want a more in-depth, science-y look at materials, this may be worth searching in directly.