Research Guides: IAD 440: Pre-Thesis Programmatic Research: Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Databases allow you to structure a search for terms in a more limited and curated place than a typical search engine.

Our library subscribes to many databases that provide citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholary journals.

To find peer-reviewed articles, there's usually a setting in advanced search or on the left side of the search results to limit by this!

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus, including sustainability, architecture, interior design, and more.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers engineering, technology, and construction. The construction literature in particular could be helpful!
Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database covers subjects such as interior design, architecture, and more. Full-text, citations, and abstracts are included from journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is *the* business database. I've found it useful for trade and industry research. It includes scholarly journals as well as magazines, trade journals, industry reports, financial data, company profiles, etc.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
If your topic is medically focused, I'd explore this. This database is filled with scholarly journals in nursing and health sciences, but less intensely-medical than some of the others so that's why I suggest it.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts, citations, and some full-text of journal articles, news coverage, book and exhibition reviews and more. Topics include furniture, interior design, architecture, product design, industrial design, garden design, landscape architecture, and sustainable design.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, and reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database with mostly full-text scholarly journals from their first issues (some date back to the 1800's) to between two and five years prior to the present. It covers many subjects including architecture and architectural history, garden and landscape, and urban studies. It's also great for history!
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
If you want to add any evidenced based research to your work that takes a psychological approach, this is the main psychology database. This playlist will help you with it.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
If you want to add any evidenced based research to your work that takes an anthropological, criminal justice, political science, or sociological approach, this is a great database!

USModernist Library
Still in its infancy, you can search for architects, specific houses, or general keywords in this database that searches through free US 20th-century architecture magazines.

Already have a citation but not full-text?

Use this search box to see if our library has a specific journal when you know the journal title you're looking for, like if you only found a citation but no full-text.

If we don't have access to the journal and/or specific issue, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab to learn how to get it for free!

Suggested Magazines & Trade Journals

Feel free to browse these for inspiration or use their search interfaces to search them directly.

For those that are in the library catalog, go to the "Find Online" tab to see the databases that have them.

Architectural Digest
Boutique Design
This magazine profiles the designers creating inventive spaces in hospitality venues large and small, global and local.Browse their archived issues here. See their website for more information.
Hospitality Design
This magazine functions as a trade outlet and voice for the hospitality design industry. It serves owners, operators, brands, purchasing agents, interior designers, and architects involved in the design of hotels, resorts, restaurants, nightlife, spas, and all other hospitality-oriented projects. Use this link to search the publication from a database. You can also browse their website.
Hotel Management
Luxe Interiors + Design
Use this link to search the publication from a database. You can also browse their website.
Contract
The leading publication for commercial interior design and architecture, connecting professionals and covering products and practice issues that set the standards in the industry. (Their last issue was released in July 2020, but you can still browse their past issues.)
Architect
Interior Design
Interior Design Magazine is an essential design authority that connects the industry with relevant and real-time content. Browse their archived issues (1996-2015) here and see their website for more current issues.