Find Articles - IAD 401: Special Topics - 1 - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Magazines & Trade Journals

Browsing and searching individual resources that have been recommended by experts (hi, Stephanie!) is a worthwhile research strategy.

Take a look at these magazines and trade journals (aka. publications that make zero sense to someone not in that field but they're not "scholarly"):

Contract
The leading publication for commercial interior design and architecture, connecting professionals and covering products and practice issues that set the standards in the industry. (Their last issue was released in July 2020, but you can still browse their past issues.)
Design Boom
A digital architecture and design magazine that publishes the latest news and key issues in the fields of architecture, design, technology and art.
Domus
This architecture and design magazine from Italy publishes articles about architecture, the applied arts, industrial design, art, urban planning and digital communications, always with an international perspective.
Interior Design
Interior Design Magazine is an essential design authority that connects the industry with relevant and real-time content. Browse their archived issues (1996-2015) here and see their website for more current issues.
Metropolis Magazine
A magazine that contains stories that link design to evolving cultural trends.

Databases

Databases allow you to structure a search in a more limited and curated place than a typical search engine.

Our library subscribes to many databases that provide citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals.

To find peer-reviewed articles, there's usually a setting in advanced search or on the left side of the search results to limit by this!

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest)
This is a business database that focuses on trade and industry, including sustainability, architecture, interior design, etc. It includes both scholarly and not-scholarly stuff.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest)
I recommend this database as a place to go to find scholarly journal articles (and not-scholarly publications) that are focused more on the design side of things. Be ready to dive in with some well-thought out search terms and you can find some relevant stuff here!
JSTOR
I love JSTOR but it's best only for certain needs. It has scholarly journals from their first issues (some date back to the 1800's) to between two and five years prior to the present. It covers many subjects including architecture and architectural history, garden and landscape, and urban studies. I think it would be perfect for historic preservation related searches but it's strong in the arts too, as long as you don't care that it's not in the last 5 years. It automatically only searches stuff we have full-text access to but as long as you're not doing this the night before something is due, use Advanced Search and change the "Select an access type" option to "All Content." Use the Interlibrary Loan tab on here if you find something we don't seem to have full-text!
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
PsycInfo is *the* psychology related database. If you want to investigate anything related to your topic from a psychological standpoint, go here! This playlist will help you with it.
PubMed
This is *the* database for medical research. Obviously, this will lean to hard science, but if your topic is related to the medical field at all, it might be worth playing with. That being said, it's slightly different than your normal database. This page might help with that.
SocINDEX (EBSCO)
This is the go-to database for sociology related resources. The topics you're researching for this class definitely have ties to sociology, so try out some search terms in here in order to build on that perspective.

IAD 401: Special Topics - 1: Find Articles

Magazines & Trade Journals

Databases