Skip to Main Content

HST 330: The Later Middle Ages

This guide covers resources that will be useful to students in HST 330: The Later Middle Ages, specifically addressing the history of Europe form the year 1000 down through the end of the 14th century.

About this page

Here you will find lists of useful reference books: book length (and multi-volume) bibliographies and specialized encyclopedias covering all aspects of the Middle Ages (Dictionary of the Middle Ages) and more specific geographic or thematic subjects.

Bibliographies and Research Guides

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by Norton, Mary Beth, ed.
Call Number: REF D20 .A55 1995

A comparatively recent guide to important works in history, mostly in English. Two volumes.

Specialized Encyclopedias

Here are some specialized subject encyclopedias. The Dictionary of the Middle Ages is the most complete and substantive.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
Call Number: REF D114.D5 1982

A fourteen volume comprehensive dictionary of 'everything' Middle Ages
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia by Kibler, William W. and Grover A. Zinn, eds.
Call Number: REF DC33.2 .M44 1995
Medieval Iberia by E. Michael Gerli (Editor)
Call Number: REF DP99 .M33 2003
Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia by Pulsiano, Philip, ed
Call Number: REF DL30 .M43 1993
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF BX841 .N44 2003

Fifteen volumes
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by Kazhdan, Alexander P.
Call Number: REF DF521 .O93 1991

Three volumes
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages : an Encyclopedia by Friedman, John Block, et al., eds.
Call Number: REF HF1001 .T7 2000
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia by Wilson, Katharina M.and Nadia Margolis, eds.
Call Number: REF HQ1143 .W643 2004

Librarian

She series

Email Me

Contact:

Claire T. Carney Library
Room 237
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu

508-999-8695

Subjects: Anthropology, Black Studies, Crime & Justice Studies, Education, Global Languages and Cultures, Health & Society, History, Humanities, Philosophy, Political Science, Portuguese, Psychology, Public Policy, Religious Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology, Women's Studies