Skip to Main Content

HST 330: The Later Middle Ages

About This Page

Here you will find citations to the complete Chicago Manual of Style, and the Turabian handbook, which uses the Chicago system. 

Documenting your research completely, accurately, and in a correct format is essential.  Information on avoiding plagiarism, and a link to RefWorks, a program that allows you to create a personalized bibliographic database also appear on this page.

Plagiarism FAQs

UMD Academic Regulations and Procedures - Read this passage from your student handbook!

Avoiding Plagiarism - OWL Guide from Purdue - This emphasizes when to give credit to sources and offers safe practices to follow.

Using the Chicago Manual

Historians generally prefer the Chicago Manual style of citation, which is published in the Chicago Manual of StyleREF Z253.U69 2010. There is an EXTENSIVE INDEX that will lead you to the correct way to cite anything.

Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. REF LB2369. T8 2013

The library web site has a brief basic guide to using Chicago Manual style.  The Unitec Institution of New Zealand provides a more detailed guide.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography when you are ready.

You must create a personal account from a computer on the UMass Dartmouth campus network or login via the Library's proxy server if you are off-campus, but after that, the program can be used from any Internet connected computer.

RefWorks calls the Chicago Manual system used by historians and other scholars and students in the humanities CHICAGO NOTES.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Pacheco
chat loading...
Contact:
Email me

Claire T. Carney Library
Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives
Room M07 (Map to my office)
285 Old Westport Road
Dartmouth, MA 02747

spacheco@umassd.edu
508-999-8695