Research Guides: Visual & Media Literacy Guide: Images Resources

Image Overload

A young boy has different media images around his head. 2017. [jpg]. Dreamstime.com. ID 38443295 © Scyther5 |.

Visual Resource Center (largest image & media repository related to arts, culture & history on campus)

LUNA (Image & Media Repository)
LUNA has more than 300,000 high resolution images related to visual arts, culture, and history, as well as CVPA alumni, and archival collections. Images may be embed or linked to myCourses or download directly. With a quick click of a button, LUNA will create PowerPoint presentations and includes other features as well.

LOGIN: Access to all the collections and functions within LUNA please click the login button at the top right corner. Use your UMassD email credentials username (only) and password to login.
Museum Collection Database Links
Direct links to museums' and libraries' online collections.
Museum Virtual Tours, Artists' Talks, and Scholarly Lectures
Free access to museums virtual tours, podcasts & videos.
CAMIO
A repository of very high resolution images taken by museums across the United States. Excellent resource for prints and decorative arts.

Questions contact: acywin@umassd.edu or 508-999-8701.

Digital Commonwealth (Massachusetts)

Digital collections from museums, libraries and archives across Massachusetts.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Contains links to a wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States. The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources.
Europeana

Digital photographs resources from Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive Digital Libraries

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections

Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections.
U.S. Government Photos and Images

A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
Wikimedia Commons

Many museums and libraries including Library of Congress and Smithsonian post high resolution images for education and scholarship purposes.

Artimages
Contemporary Visual Arts
British Library Images Online
Millions of images from books held in the British Library.
Digital Media Repository of Military History
Excellent resource for photographs and epherma related to United States military history.
Internet Archive Digital Libraries
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to pictorial and audio-visual collections.
National Archives (NARA)
Historic photographs documenting the United States.
NY Public Library Digital Gallery
Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
Smarthistory - Khan Academy
A collection of scholarly videos related to art objects
U.S. Government Photos and Images
A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
UbuWeb Film & Video
Wikimedia Commons
more...less...
Many museums and libraries including Library of Congress and Smithsonian post high-resolution images for education and scholarship purposes.

Milner, Carl. My Instagram Eye. 2012. [jpg]. https://milnersblog.com/2012/04/17/my-instagram-eye/.

Carnegie Science Image Database
A collection of images and tutorials pertaining to the sciences.
Earth Science World Images
A collection of photographs related to the earth sciences.
Library of Congress Sciences Image Resources
Medical Heritage Library
The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical resources including rare books, pamphlets, journals and film number in the tens of thousands, will representative works from each of the past six centuries.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library
A collection of photographs representing observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency.
U.S. Fish and Wildfire Service National Digital Library