Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources

Open Image Resources

 

British Library (https:www.flickr.com/photos/britishlibrary/albums)

  • More than million 17th, 18th and 19th century images from books held in the British Library.
Carnegie Science Image Database (https://carnegiescience.edu/image-database)
  • A collection of images and tutorials pertaining to sciences.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) (http://dp.la/exhibitions)

  • Contains links to a wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States (so not international).
  • The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources. However, many items are public domain or available for re-use, and there is information in a "rights" field for each item.

Earth Science World Images   (http://www.earthscienceworld.org/images/index.html)

  • A collection of photographs of all aspects of Earth Science.

Europeana (http://www.europeana.eu/portal/)

  • Digital photographs resources from Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections. 

Flickr: Creative Commons (http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/)

  • A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
  • HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Library of Congress Digital Collections (http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html)

  • Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections

Medical Heritage Library (http://www.medicalheritage.org/search/)

  • The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals and film number in the tens of thousands, will representative works from each of the past six centuries.

National Archives (NARA)     (http://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/photography.html#nara)

  • A portal to photographs from libraries and archives throughout the United States.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library     (http://www.photolib.noaa.gov)

  • A collection of photographs representing observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency.

NY Public Library Digital Gallery    (http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm)

  • Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.
Open Access Data Repositories   (http://www.oad.simmons.edu/oadwiki/Data_repositories)
  • A list generated by Simmons College of open access data related to multitude of disciplines.  

Open Context (http://www.opencontext.org)

  • Open Context publishes data contributed by researchers through a process that reviews, edits, and aligns data to standards.
  • Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety.

Structurae (http://structurae.net/structures/)

  • The largest image database for Civil and Structural Engineers

UMassD Visual Resource Center     (http://www.umassd.edu/cvpa/vrc/artsmediaresources/)

  • A directory of links to museum and library collection databases, lectures, interviews, virtual tours related to the arts and culture.

U.S. Fish and Wildfire Service National Digital Library   (http://www.digitalmedia.fws.gov)

  • A searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain.
  • A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.

Open Video Resources

Archive of American Television     (http://www.emmytvlegends.org/interviews/people)

  • A collection of interviews of people involved in broadcast history.  

British Pathe (http://www.britishpathe.com/)

  • A collection of films and clips from 1890 - 2011.

British University Film Gateway (http://bufvc.ac.uk/gateway/)

  • The BUFVC Moving Image Gateway includes over 1,700 websites relating to video, multimedia and sound materials representing more than 40 subject areas.

Internet Archive Stock Footage (https://archive.org/details/stock_footage?&sort=-downloads&page=2)

  • A collection of stock footage clips submitted by Internet Archive users. These clips are designed to be used in other videos in accordance to creative commons.

Internet Archive Moving Image (https://archive.org/details/movies)

  • Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.

Library of Congress Videos       (https://www.youtube.com/user/LibraryOfCongress/featured)

  • The Library of Congress collection early historic films and general presentations and lectures sponsored

National Archives Videos        (https://www.youtube.com/user/usnationalarchives/videos)

  • The National Archives' YouTube videos comprised of films from the collection as well as presentations and lectures.
  • You can also visit the Nature Video YouTube channel which enables you to easily embed and share our videos through websites, mobile devices, blogs and email.

Nature Podcasts (http://www.nature.com/nature/podcast/index.html)

  • Each week Nature publishes a free audio show. Every show features highlighted content from the week's edition of Natureincluding interviews with the people behind the science, and in-depth commentary and analysis from journalists covering science around the world.

The Open Video Project (http://www.open-video.org/)

  • A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes

Prelinger Archives (https://archive.org/details/prelinger&tab=about)

  • Holding of thousands of video and films of home movies, amateur and industrial films.

Public Domain Flicks (http://www.publicdomainflicks.com/browse/title/1/)

  • A collection of free public domain full length films. films.

Smarthistory - Khan Academy (https://www.khanacademy.org/)

  • A collection of scholarly  videos related to art objects

Smithsonian Channel     (https://www.youtube.com/user/smithsonianchannel/featured)

  • A collection of videos on various topics including science, history, culture and arts.

VIMEO Creative Commons (https://vimeo.com/creativecommons)

  • A gateway to films under the creative commons license.
  • A collection of shorts films on various topics.