Portuguese-American Genealogy

Collection includes selected meeting minutes, correspondence, a set of newsletters, newsletters of other Portuguese genealogical societies, a name card file, microfilm of card file, and vertical file papers. Card files consist of the name file created by members of the APGHS, as well as the research of Anthony S. Catojo, Jr., referred to as his “lifetime collection.” Monographs and serials are catalogued in the library, both in general collections and special collections. Special collections books are housed together in the archives reading room.

The Prince Henry Society of Massachusetts, New Bedford Chapter was founded in 1980 by the late Milton Ferreira, Anthony S. Catojo, Jr. and Gabriel “Gabe” Moura to preserve the contribution of the Portuguese in America and promote the cultural, economic, educational and social betterment of persons of Portuguese descent.
Membership in the Society is by invitation and limited to business and professional people of Portuguese descent (only one parent needs to have been born in Portugal or the autonomous regions of Azores or Madeira). These selected people must be willing to be active and personally contribute to the goals of the Society. The by-laws of the Society limit the membership to one hundred individuals in each of its three chapters (New Bedford, Fall River and Taunton) and do not allow more than four individuals from any one profession or business, in order to provide diversification of membership reflective of the community at large.

No longer operating, the Portuguese American Federation Inc., was founded on July 5th, 1965 in Bristol, Rhode Island by Dr. Manuel Luciano da Silva, M.D. Robert C. Arruda D.M. L., and Nelson D. Martins, PH. D. The Portuguese American Federation is a non-profit charitable, educational and cultural organization. The Portuguese-American, Inc. purpose is to unite all individuals and organizations who share an interest in Portuguese culture.
In 1970, the Federation introduced the weekly television program The Portuguese Around Us, which offered varied programs that, presented positive role models in the Portuguese-American community.
According to the constitution and by-laws of the Federation, the goal of the Federation is to promote goodwill and cultural exchanges among Portuguese and non-Portuguese speaking people in North America and throughout the world. The Federation seeks to cooperate with other institutions and organizations in co-sponsoring events relevant to a greater appreciation of Portuguese culture. The Federation attempts to serve as a unified voice in matters that deems pertinent to the Portuguese-American community.

Club Ponta Delgada was incorporated in 1915 in Tiverton, Rhode Island as a social, athletic, and music club. The Club held an Annual meeting, and elected a Board of Directors to terms of one year. The slate of officers consisted of President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and three Trustees. Membership was by application. In 1936, The Ponta Delgada Band Club and The Liberty Boys Club joined together and became known as the Ponta Delgada Holy Ghost and Soccer Club of Tiverton, Rhode Island. In 1946, the men’s soccer team reached the finals in the National Open, eventually losing to the Chicago Vikings. In 1947, the team won the National Amateur Cup by beating Pittsburgh. By 1989, the club was called Ponta Delgada Patriot’s Club, Inc., membership was reserved for males over the age of 21, and was dedicated to the promotion of social welfare, charity, and the ideals of patriotism. Several members of the soccer team are in the national Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, New York.

Originally known as Newport County Vasco da Gama Society, the oldest Portuguese benefit society in Rhode Island, was founded in 1897. This organization’s mission was to render assistance to its members when ill and to assist their loved ones on the passing of the head of the household. They took as their patron the Portuguese explorer of the 15th century, thus the full name of this organization: “Associação Portuguesa Beneficente Vasco da Gama - Portuguese Beneficent Association Vasco da Gama (APBVG). In 1951, they merged with the Holy Ghost Society, another benefit group serving people of Portuguese ancestry, healing a breach which had separated the two units since 1914. At this point both societies were renamed. The main reason for the merger was the overlapping functions of the two groups in a relatively small community.
Vasco da Gama Holy Ghost Society of Newport R.I. helped to preserve the culture and heritage of the Portuguese-American community. Nowadays, their home, the Fenner Hall Club, serves several of their functions, as well as those of other groups within the community, such as Banquet Hall, Dance Venue, Dinner Club. They also host wedding banquets and other celebrations, and a calendar of events by Swanhurst Chorus, East Bay Ballroom, and Community Contra Dance.

We have several collections of papers donated by individuals. While these are not going to be helpful for everyone, if your family member donated material to us we may have information helpful to your search. The best way to find out if this is the case is to use this search function.